OpinionMom http://opinionmom.com A mom gives her opinions on life and stuff. Thu, 06 Feb 2014 22:39:01 +0000 en-US hourly 1 https://wordpress.org/?v=4.5.9 NO LONGER AVAILABLE: My e-book – How to Start a Freelance Writing Business http://opinionmom.com/2009/11/11/my-e-book-how-to-start-a-freelance-writing-business/ http://opinionmom.com/2009/11/11/my-e-book-how-to-start-a-freelance-writing-business/#comments Wed, 11 Nov 2009 17:31:55 +0000 http://opinionmom.com/?p=222 Update: The publisher has dropped this e-book. It is no longer available.

Have you ever thought about starting a freelance writing business from your home?

Do you wish that you had business advice from someone who’s been there. Wouldn’t it be great if someone with some experience would answer your questions?

Guess what? Now there is just such a resource.

I’ve written the How To Start A Freelance Writing Business (affiliate link) e-book (published through Freelance Folder) specifically to help you succeed as a freelance writer. I’ve been a professional writer for 19 years, and I’ve been freelancing for seven of those years. I want to share with you what I’ve learned.

In fact, it actually took years for me to learn some of the information that I will share with you in How To Start A Freelance Writing Business. However, when you purchase the e-book you’ll have the information that you need today.

I’ve met my goals as a freelancer, and you can too! This book will help you do it.

The e-book is written in a clear, concise manner with plenty of examples. It tells you exactly what you really need to know to get your freelance writing business started. Most people should be able to read this e-book in an hour or two, although you’ll probably want to refer back to it often.

Avoid making costly mistakes as you start your freelance writing business. How To Start A Freelance Writing Business can give your business the competitive edge that you need in this tough economy.

So, what are you waiting for? Get your copy today! Click here to view more details

Did you already read How To Start A Freelance Writing Business? If so, I’d love to hear from you. Leave a comment here, or drop me an e-mail.

(Note: This post contains my affiliate link.)

]]>
http://opinionmom.com/2009/11/11/my-e-book-how-to-start-a-freelance-writing-business/feed/ 2
What Kind of Posts Do You Like? http://opinionmom.com/2008/03/25/what-kind-of-posts-do-you-like/ Tue, 25 Mar 2008 14:37:11 +0000 http://opinionmom.com/2008/03/25/what-kind-of-posts-do-you-like/ Okay, it’s been a while since I’ve posted here. I’ve got a stack of ideas, but I thought it would be a good idea to find out what you want to see here.

Take the following poll to let me know what kind of posts you like.

]]>
Wordless Wednesday: Spring Peeking Out http://opinionmom.com/2008/02/27/wordless-wednesday-spring-peeking-out/ http://opinionmom.com/2008/02/27/wordless-wednesday-spring-peeking-out/#comments Wed, 27 Feb 2008 13:49:06 +0000 http://opinionmom.com/2008/02/27/wordless-wednesday-spring-peeking-out/

spring-peeking-out.JPG


Contents (c) Copyright 2008, Laura Spencer. All rights reserved

]]>
http://opinionmom.com/2008/02/27/wordless-wednesday-spring-peeking-out/feed/ 7
Do You Love Puzzles? http://opinionmom.com/2008/02/07/do-you-love-puzzles/ http://opinionmom.com/2008/02/07/do-you-love-puzzles/#comments Thu, 07 Feb 2008 17:40:35 +0000 http://opinionmom.com/2008/02/07/do-you-love-puzzles/ I know that I do and so do my kids.

wuzzlesandpuzzles.jpg

Well, I discovered this neat puzzle site through the Mom Blogs. The site is called, believe it or not, Wuzzles and Puzzles.

The thing that I like about this site is that you can print the puzzles out.

So, whether you’re headed to the Doctor’s office or ready for a long trip, you can take these puzzles with you to keep older kids entertained. If you have a pre-teen or teen sick at home, just hand them a stack of these puzzles.

Have fun!

]]>
http://opinionmom.com/2008/02/07/do-you-love-puzzles/feed/ 1
A Valentine’s Day Quiz and Contest http://opinionmom.com/2008/01/31/a-valentines-day-quiz-and-contest/ Thu, 31 Jan 2008 16:28:19 +0000 http://opinionmom.com/2008/01/31/a-valentines-day-quiz-and-contest/ Just in time for Valentine’s Day: a quiz and a contest.

The quiz asks whether you follow your head or your heart in love.

Here’s how I did, how did you do?


You Follow Your Head


You’re rational, collected, and logical.

Generally, it takes you quite a while to fall in love.

In fact, you’ve even been accused of being very picky.

While you’re cool, you’re not ice cold.

You just know what you want, and don’t mind waiting to get it.

Do You Follow Your Head or Your Heart?

The contest is over at the Really Lousy Dates blog. If you share the story of your worst Valentine’s Day, you could win a prize.

]]>
Frugal Fridays: The Frugal, Healthy Shopping List http://opinionmom.com/2008/01/25/frugal-fridays-the-frugal-healthy-shopping-list/ http://opinionmom.com/2008/01/25/frugal-fridays-the-frugal-healthy-shopping-list/#comments Fri, 25 Jan 2008 16:47:52 +0000 http://opinionmom.com/2008/01/25/frugal-fridays-the-frugal-healthy-shopping-list/ frugalfridays.jpg

I’ve sort of been on a health kick since the start of the year. This post continues in that frame of mind.

My premise: good health doesn’t need to be expensive.

For today’s post, I pulled the ad from my local grocer to find eight healthy foods that are not expensive. (Of course, prices at your local grocery store may vary.)

  1. Onions.
    Cost: 1.00/3 lbs.
  2. Peppers.
    Cost: 1.00/each.
  3. Apples.
    Cost: 1.00/lb.
  4. Grapefruit.
    Cost: 1.00/each.
  5. Head of Lettuce.
    Cost: .99/each.
  6. Broccoli.
    Cost: 1.29/lb.
  7. Mangos.
    Cost: 1.00/each.
  8. Navel Oranges.
    Cost: 4.99/8 lbs.

So, don’t let anyone tell you that it costs a lot to eat right.

What’s in your shopping bag?

Contents (c) Copyright 2008, Laura Spencer. All rights reserved

]]>
http://opinionmom.com/2008/01/25/frugal-fridays-the-frugal-healthy-shopping-list/feed/ 4
Wordless Wednesday: ‘Gator http://opinionmom.com/2008/01/23/wordless-wednesday-gator/ http://opinionmom.com/2008/01/23/wordless-wednesday-gator/#comments Wed, 23 Jan 2008 16:12:59 +0000 http://opinionmom.com/2008/01/23/wordless-wednesday-gator/  alligator.JPG

Contents (c) Copyright 2008, Laura Spencer. All rights reserved

]]>
http://opinionmom.com/2008/01/23/wordless-wednesday-gator/feed/ 3
CLOSED — Try Skin MD Natural for Free: Participate in a Field Trial! http://opinionmom.com/2008/01/19/try-skin-md-natural-for-free-participate-in-a-field-trial/ http://opinionmom.com/2008/01/19/try-skin-md-natural-for-free-participate-in-a-field-trial/#comments Sat, 19 Jan 2008 23:57:39 +0000 http://opinionmom.com/2008/01/19/try-skin-md-natural-for-free-participate-in-a-field-trial/ skin-md-lotion.JPG

A few months ago I reviewed a skin lotion, Skin MD Natural. The lotion has the unique characteristic of being a shielding lotion. You can read my review here.

Well, Skin MD Natural have contacted me again. They are conducting a field trial and want to invite OpinionMom readers to participate.

Edited on February 1, 2008: This offer is now closed. All participants should be receiving their lotion in about a week.

Here’s a quote from the e-mail that I received:

Skin MD Natural is doing a field trial of our product and we’d like to invite a few of your readers to participate. We will send you 12 bottles of Skin MD Natural to give out to your readers to do a one-month trial of the product. We are looking for both men and women who suffer from dry skin or want to try it as protective lotion from chemicals, irritants, etc.. We are looking for their honest feedback.

If they’d like to do a photo journal of their skin over the month that would be a great idea too.

If you live in the U.S. and want to get involved in this field trial. Leave me a comment. I will send the e-mail information for the first 12 people to respond to the folks at Skin MD Natural. You should get your bottle in a few weeks.

(By participating in this drawing, all participants agree that they are trying this product at their own risk without any warranties or guarantees about product performance from OpinionMom.)

(Disclosure: Product samples were provided by an agent for Skin MD Natural.)

Contents (c) Copyright 2007, Laura Spencer. All rights reserved

]]>
http://opinionmom.com/2008/01/19/try-skin-md-natural-for-free-participate-in-a-field-trial/feed/ 12
Wordless Wednesday: Clouds http://opinionmom.com/2008/01/09/wordless-wednesday-clouds/ http://opinionmom.com/2008/01/09/wordless-wednesday-clouds/#comments Wed, 09 Jan 2008 19:42:21 +0000 http://opinionmom.com/2008/01/09/wordless-wednesday-clouds/ clouds.jpg

Contents (c) Copyright 2007, Laura Spencer. All rights reserved

]]>
http://opinionmom.com/2008/01/09/wordless-wednesday-clouds/feed/ 4
Right Brained or Left Brained? http://opinionmom.com/2008/01/08/right-brained-or-left-brained/ Tue, 08 Jan 2008 15:40:41 +0000 http://opinionmom.com/2008/01/08/right-brained-or-left-brained/ Apparently, I’m a little of both …


You Are 60% Left Brained, 40% Right Brained


The left side of your brain controls verbal ability, attention to detail, and reasoning.

Left brained people are good at communication and persuading others.

If you’re left brained, you are likely good at math and logic.

Your left brain prefers dogs, reading, and quiet.The right side of your brain is all about creativity and flexibility.

Daring and intuitive, right brained people see the world in their unique way.

If you’re right brained, you likely have a talent for creative writing and art.

Your right brain prefers day dreaming, philosophy, and sports.

Are You Right or Left Brained?

]]>